Staff

Contact the Smart Museum of Art

General inquiries
smart-museum@uchicago.edu
773.702.0200

Group and K–12 school tours
nicolebond@uchicago.edu
773.702.0180

University class visits
bness@uchicago.edu
773.834.9070

Make a gift
pkasian@uchicago.edu
773.834.1960

Director’s office
mcpalafox@uchicago.edu
773.834.1778

Press inquiries
cjlind@uchicago.edu
773.702.0176

Rights and reproductions
smart-images@uchicago.edu
773.702.9549


Staff Directory

Director’s Office

Stephanie Smith
Interim Director
ssmith@uchicago.edu

Mayra Cecilia Palafox
Interim Executive Assistant for Leadership Support
773.834.1778
mcpalafox@uchicago.edu

C.J. Lind
Associate Director of Communications
773.702.0176
cjlind@uchicago.edu


Curatorial

Orianna Cacchione
Curator of Global Contemporary Art
773.702.3258
ocacchione@uchicago.edu

Jennifer Carty
Associate Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art
773.702.6501
jcarty@uchicago.edu

Laura Steward
Curator of Public Art
773.753.4823
steward@uchicago.edu

Shane Rothe
Curatorial Research Assistant
773.834.1210
srothe@uchicago.edu

Adjunct curators
Christine Mehring
Adjunct Curator
Mary L. Block Professor of Art History and the College

mehring@uchicago.edu

Wu Hung
Adjunct Curator 
Harrie A. Vanderstappen Distinguished Service Professor of Art History and the College

hungwu@uchicago.edu


Development

Polina Kasian
Assistant Director of Development
pkasian@uchicago.edu


Feitler Center for Academic Inquiry

Berit Ness
Associate Curator for Academic Engagement
773.834.9070
bness@uchicago.edu

Aneesah Ettress
Academic Engagement Coordinator
ettress@uchicago.edu

Alexandria Knapik
Interim Administrative Coordinator
alexknapik@uchicago.edu


Museum Affairs

Administration
Melissa Hearth
Financial & Human Resources Coordinator
773.702.0528
mserrano@uchicago.edu

Roslyn R. Pitts
Operations Assistant
773.795.0287
rozpitts@uchicago.edu

Guest Services
Rochelle Baker
Guest Services
rbaker1@uchicago.edu

Starr Miles
Guest Services
dsmiles4@uchicago.edu

Larry Queen
Guest Services
lqueen@uchicago.edu

Exhibitions and Registration
Ray Klemchuk
Associate Director of Exhibition Design and Production
773.702.0178
rklemchuk@uchicago.edu

Emily Edwards
Manager, Museum Affairs and Art to Live With
773.834.1989
emilyedwards@uchicago.edu

Derek Ernster
Preparator
773.702.0178
ernster@uchicago.edu

Gail Gomez
Exhibitions and Publications Manager
773.702.4434
ggomez2@uchicago.edu

Steve Lieto
Temporary Facility and Security Lead
773.702.9523
slieto@uchicago.edu

Jenna Post
Assistant Registrar
773.702.9549
jmpost@uchicago.edu


Public Practice

Jason Pallas
Associate Director of Public Practice
773.702.0180
jpallas@uchicago.edu

Dorian H. Nash
Interim Manager of Public Programs
773.834.5925
msnash01@uchicago.edu

Erik L. Peterson
Manager of Family Programs and Student Engagement
773.702.2362 
eriklpeterson@uchicago.edu

Museum Education
Nicole Bond
Lead Museum Educator
nicolebond@uchicago.edu

Katherine Davis
Lead Museum Educator
katyd@uchicago.edu

Jo McEntee
Lead Museum Educator
mcenteejl@uchicago.edu