Staff

Contact the Smart Museum of Art

General inquiries
smart-museum@uchicago.edu
773.702.0200

Group and K–12 school tours
jpallas@uchicago.edu
773.702.0180

Study room visits
bness@uchicago.edu
773.834.9070

Make a gift
label@uchicago.edu
773.834.1960

Director’s office
adrexelius@uchicago.edu
773.834.1778

Press inquiries
cjlind@uchicago.edu
773.702.0176

Rights and reproductions
smart-images@uchicago.edu
773.702.9549


Staff Directory

Director’s Office

Amina Dickerson
Co-Interim Director
773.834.1778
aminad@uchicago.edu

Bill Michel
Co-Interim Director
773.805.3136
wmichel@uchicago.edu

Alexandra Drexelius
Executive Assistant for Leadership Support
773.834.1778
adrexelius@uchicago.edu


Curatorial

Orianna Cacchione
Curator of Global Contemporary Art
773.702.3258
ocacchione@uchicago.edu

Jennifer Carty
Associate Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art
773.702.6501
jcarty@uchicago.edu

Simone Levine
Curatorial Research Assistant for Global Contemporary Art
773.834.3008
sim1levine@uchicago.edu

Laura Steward
Curator of Public Art
773.753.4823
steward@uchicago.edu

Abigail Winograd
MacArthur Fellows Program Fortieth Anniversary Exhibition Curator
773.702.1381
winograd@uchicago.edu

Adjunct curators
Christine Mehring
Adjunct Curator
Mary L. Block Professor of Art History and the College

mehring@uchicago.edu

Wu Hung
Adjunct Curator 
Harrie A. Vanderstappen Distinguished Service Professor of Art History and the College

hungwu@uchicago.edu


Development

Lisa Abel
Interim Director of Development
773.834.1960
label@uchicago.edu

Sara Arnas
Grant Writer
773.702.0766
sarnas@uchicago.edu

Sarah Polachek
Associate Director, Events Management
773.702.5785
spolachek@uchicago.edu


Feitler Center for Academic Inquiry

Issa Lampe
Director of the Feitler Center
Deputy Director for Academic and Curatorial Affairs

773.834.3886
issalampe@uchicago.edu

Nora S. Lambert
Andrew W. Mellon Curatorial Fellow
nslambert@uchicago.edu

Berit Ness
Assistant Curator of Academic Initiatives
773.834.9070
bness@uchicago.edu

Aaron Wilder
Academic Engagement Coordinator
aaronwilder@uchicago.edu


Museum Affairs

Administration
Melissa Hearth
Financial & Human Resources Coordinator
773.702.0528
mserrano@uchicago.edu

Roslyn R. Pitts
Operations Assistant
773.795.0287
rozpitts@uchicago.edu

Guest Services
Oscar Sanchez
Guest Services and Operations Supervisor
773.702.9523
oscarsanchez@uchicago.edu

Jacqueline C. Finley
Coordinator of Guest Services
773.702.9523
jqcfinley25@uchicago.edu

Rochelle Baker
Guest Services
rbaker1@uchicago.edu

Sherry Harris
Guest Services
sherryh@uchicago.edu

Starr Miles
Guest Services
dsmiles4@uchicago.edu

Alisha Webster
Guest Services
alishaw@uchicago.edu

Exhibitions and Registration
Sara Hindmarch
Head of Exhibitions & Registration
773.834.2139
shindmarch@uchicago.edu

Emily Edwards
Manager, Museum Affairs and Art to Live With
773.834.1989
emilyedwards@uchicago.edu

Gail Gomez
Exhibitions and Publications Coordinator
773.702.4434
ggomez2@uchicago.edu

Ray Klemchuk
Associate Director of Exhibition Design and Production
773.702.0178
rklemchuk@uchicago.edu

Jenna Post
Assistant Registrar
773.702.9549
jmpost@uchicago.edu

Jill Sterrett
Toward Common Cause Project Advisor
Deputy Director, Museum Affairs and Strategic Impact

sterrettj@uchicago.edu


Public Practice

Michael Christiano
Deputy Director and Curator of Public Practice
773.702.2351
mchristiano@uchicago.edu

C.J. Lind
Associate Director of Communications
773.702.0176
cjlind@uchicago.edu

Dorian H. Nash
Project Coordinator for Public Practice
773.834.5925
msnash01@uchicago.edu

Jason Pallas
Manager of Community Engagement and Arts Learning
773.702.0180
jpallas@uchicago.edu

Erik L. Peterson
Manager of Family Programs and Student Engagement
773.702.2362 
eriklpeterson@uchicago.edu

Museum Education
Rita Alvarez
Lead Museum Educator
ritaa@uchicago.edu

Nicole Bond
Lead Museum Educator
nicolebond@uchicago.edu

Katherine Davis
Lead Museum Educator
katyd@uchicago.edu

Kathy Fitzgerald
Lead Museum Educator
k8y@uchicago.edu

Nick Jackson
Teaching Artist
nick.jay4@gmail.com

Jo McEntee
Lead Museum Educator
mcenteejl@uchicago.edu

Mayra Cecilia Palafox
Lead Museum Educator
mcpalafox@uchicago.edu