Free and open to the public

Open today 10 am–5 pm

Skip navigation

Concert: Echoes of History

University Symphony Orchestra

University of Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Barbara Schubert, conductor

The 100-member University Symphony Orchestra presents three powerful and poignant musical reflections on historical turning points of the last 100 years. 

The concert features: Eric Ewazen’s A Hymn for the Lost and the Living, written after September 11, 2001; Krzysztof Penderecki’s Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima; and Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 12 in D minor, The Year of 1917. 

The Penderecki work is presented as part of Nuclear Reactions—1942: A Historic Breakthrough, an Uncertain Future, a series of events presented by the University of Chicago to commemorate and discuss the complex legacy of the first controlled, self-sustaining nuclear chain reaction. The Shostakovich piece is offered in conjunction with the Smart Museum of Art’s exhibition Revolution Every Day, which marks the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution. 

See for other musical presentations on December 1 and 2 related to these commemorations.

Admission is free; donations requested: $10 general, $5 students/children.